Wels, Austria – 4 September 2018 — A bumper entry of 1000 competitors are headed to Poland’s Red Bull 111 Megawatt this coming weekend, September 8/9, for round five of the World Enduro Super Series. At the head of the standings, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jonny Walker (GB) aims to keep his lead intact over Germany’s Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM) and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Billy Bolt (GB).

With the summer break complete, the World Enduro Super Series readies itself for the second half of the championship. Kicking things off with Red Bull 111 Megawatt, a high-intensity four rounds in 10 weeks will then determine the outcome of this year’s inaugural battle to become the ULTIMATE ENDURO CHAMPION.

Now in its fifth edition, Red Bull 111 Megawatt marks the final Hard Enduro event on the championship calendar. But it offers a unique twist on Cross-Country racing – requiring competitors to display elements of speed, technical riding, fitness, head-to-head racing and race craft in order to be successful. Staged over two days, Saturday’s opening day of competition will see 1000 amateur and professional riders vie for a place on Sunday’s all-important start line. Two unique special tests — Motocross and Endurocross — will be raced twice with the fastest 500 making the grade for Sunday’s main event.


Utilising Europe’s largest coal mine to its maximum, riders then face three laps of a demanding 30-kilometre long course that weaves its way around the spectacular venue. Filled with large sandy climbs, near-vertical drop-offs, gigantic sandy moguls and a multitude of high-speed Enduro trails, it’s a thrilling race that will push riders to their physical and mental limits.

Victorious in Poland for the last three years, championship leader Walker has made the Red Bull 111 Megawatt his own. Ferociously fast around the Belchatow mine, the British rider will be the rider to beat. Yet to claim a win in this season’s WESS, the KTM rider knows that claiming maximum points at round five will set him up perfectly for the remaining races to come.

Sitting second to Walker in the title chase, Lettenbichler is arguably this year’s standout performer. With three podium visits in four races, the young 20-year-old privateer is also knocking on the door of his debut WESS victory. With 185 points separating him from Walker, a win in Poland could turn the standings on its head at this crucial part in the series. As round one winner, Bolt will be eager to return to the podium at round five. Always spectacular to watch, the 21-year-old British rider will be aiming high at Red Bull 111 Megawatt.

Participants before the qualifiers race at Red Bull 111 Megawatt in Kleszczów, Poland on September 9, 2017 

Keen to keep his winning momentum rolling, round four winner Sherco Factory Racing’s Wade Young will be a strong contender in Poland. The South African, who sits fourth overall in the championship chase, is favoured for a top three result. So too is his teammate Mario Roman. The Spaniard has twice finished second at Red Bull 111 Megawatt, shadowing Walker across the finish line both times. Fit and healthy again after his injuries sustained at Red Bull Romaniacs, Roman will be hoping it becomes a case of third time lucky in Poland.


World Enduro Super Series Standings (after 4 of 8 rounds)

  1. Jonny Walker (KTM – GB) 2900 points; 2. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM – GER) 2715 pts; 3. Billy Bolt (Husqvarna – GBR) 2520 pts; 4. Wade Young (Sherco – RSA) 2220 pts; 5. Paul Bolton (KTM – GBR) 1832 pts; 6. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna – GBR) 1818 pts; 7. Josep Garcia (KTM – ESP) 1750 pts; 8. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM – POL) 1445 pts; 9. Travis Teasdale (Beta – RSA) 1410 pts; 10. Lars Enockl (Gas Gas – AUT) 1351 pts…

Red Bull 111 Megawatt Fast Facts

2.59: Jonny Walker’s winning margin in seconds over Mario Roman in 2016
3: Jonny Walker has claimed a hat trick of wins (2015, 2016, 2017)
10.85: Walker’s winning margin in seconds over Roman in 2017
111: The race starts at exactly 1:11pm in honour of Taddy Blazusiak,111 being his race number
1000: Number of competitors entered
2014: Blazusiak won the first edition of the race

Red Bull 111 Megawatt 2017 Podium

  1. Jonny Walker (KTM); 2. Mario Roman (Sherco); 3. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna)

Red Bull 111 Megawatt Past Winners

2017: Jonny Walker (KTM)
2016: Jonny Walker (KTM)
2015: Jonny Walker (KTM)
2014: Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)

Red Bull 111 Megawatt Schedule

Saturday, 8 September:
10:00-14:00 — Round 1
14:30-18:30 — Round 2

Sunday, 9 September:
9:45 – Final B (qualifiers 501-750)
1:11pm – Final Race (qualifiers 1-500)


Rnd 1. Extreme XL Lagares (Portugal) May 11-13
Rnd 2. Erzbergrodeo (Austria) May 31-June 3
Rnd 3. Trèfle Lozérien AMV (France) June 8-10
Rnd 4. Red Bull Romaniacs (Romania) July 24-28
Rnd 5. Red Bull 111 Megawatt (Poland) September 8-9
Rnd 6. Hawkstone Park Cross-Country (England) September 22-23
Rnd 7. Gotland Grand National (Sweden) October 26-27
Rnd 8. Red Bull Knock Out (The Netherlands) November 10