LOMMEL (Belgium) 04 August 2018 – The 2018 Fiat Professional MXGP of Belgium has begun with Lommel’s sandy conditions suiting the 2017 overall winners, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings and Jorge Prado, as they dominated yesterday’s Qualifying races in MXGP and MX2 respectively.

Jeffrey Herlings: “I definitely love coming here… last year we were here and we won, this year we are here so I want to repeat it and come out with a win, it would be nice, it would be good for the championship. There is 6 rounds to go in less than 2 months but many things can still happen. Our plan for tomorrow is to get two good starts, try to fight for victory but it won’t be easy, the competition is strong.”

Being such a challenging track, Lommel is one of the competitors’ favourites. The beautifully groomed track quickly transformed into the typical Belgian sand pit with massive ruts and moving lines. The weather was hot with temperatures reaching the mid 30’s. Spectators gathered to admire and enjoy the speed, skill, and fitness of the world’s best riders on display yesterday.

Joining the World Championship classes of MXGP and MX2 where FIM Europe’s classes of EMX125 presented by FMF Racing and EMX250. Coming into the day 100 riders were entered into the 125cc class alone with another 91 in EMX250. By race 1 a series of timed sessions combined with a last chance race narrowed the fields to 40 riders each. Performing best and making it on the race one 125 podium was Yamaha Europe EMX125’s Thibault Benistant, Team Maddi Racing Husqvarna’s Mattia Guadagnini, and Arvid Lüning plus Yamaha SM Action MC Migliori’s Maxime Renaux, Creymert Racing’s Kevin Horgmo, and REVO Husqvarna UK’s Mel Pocock doing the same in EMX250.

MXGP Qualifying Race Top Ten: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 24:55.928; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:15.876; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:21.255; 4. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:50.668; 5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, KTM), +0:55.261; 6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:08.449; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:12.960; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Yamaha), +1:13.126; 9. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +1:22.128; 10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Suzuki), +1:30.810.