Next year promises to be an exciting 2019 Dakar Rally. Famed as one of the most difficult and enduring races on Earth, The Rally has been set to take place (in its entirety) in Peru, South America.

The dates for this year’s race have been set as January 6-17 2019. This ultimate Enduro Rally features 10 incredible stages, one marathon stage (no pit crews allowed) and two days of rest for competitors.

In total, the riders will ride just over 4,900km, with nearly 3,000 of those timed specials and 1,900 non-race travel. And 70% of the action will take place in the sand dunes of Peru.

From the Capital riders will head south, covering the beautiful coastal region with stages in Pisco, San Juan de Marcona and Arequipa – places already visited during last year’s event which was won by KTM’s Matthias Walkner.

The epic Marathon stage will occur in Moquequa before the riders arrive to Arequipa for the rest day. From there, riders head back to Lima after taking on San Juan de Marcona and Pisco.

Leading up to the 2019 Dakar Rally, competitors will get some well-needed practice in a few events:

  • Atacma Rally in Chile (FIM Cross Countries Championship)
  • Desafio Ruta 40 Rally in Argentina (FIM Cross Countries Championship)
  • Inca Challenge in Peru (Dakar Series event)

Last year’s Dakar Rally traveled through three countries – Peru, Bolivia and Argentina – and took riders nearly 8,300kms in 14 stages, which included two marathon stages where riders could not use their pit crews.

2019 Dakar Rally Schedule

Date Stage Place
6 January Starting ramp Lima
7 January Stage 1 Lima – Pisco
8 January Stage 2 Pisco – San Juan de Marcona
9 January Stage 3 San Juan de Marcona – Arequipa
10 January Stage 4 Arequipa – Moquegua
11 January Stage 5 Moquegua – Arequipa
12 January Rest Day Arequipa
13 January Stage 6 Arequipa – San Juan de Marcona
14 January Stage 7 San Juan de Marcona – San Juan de Marcona
15 January Stage 8 San Juan de Marcona – Pisco
16 January Stage 9 Pisco – Pisco
17 January Stage 10 Pisco – Lima